Today’s frustrations center around rebuilding my local development environment. The goal is to build out a development environment with Scrapy, a candidate for getting data sets out of their various government repositories and into Citizen Intelligence’s data warehouse. It is not going particularly well. Apparently I never updated Fink after upgrading from 10.6 to 10.7 which means I have to delete everything and start over. A large number of things behind the scenes apparently stopped working at that point.

It’s this sort of thing that makes me glad that I’m not an actual developer.

Update: lxml is apparently very picky about how it’s configured so that scrapy will actually work on OS X, a common problem that many have torn their hair out over. Fink eventually came to the rescue.

